You may join the League or renew your membership by mail or online using a credit card. Just click the “Join” link at the top of this page.

Local elections for Mayor, City Council, and the
Board of Education will be held on Nov. 5 this year.
Register to Vote by October 7.
Vote early from October 8 to November 4.

Cuyahoga County residents, REGISTER online, download and mail registration, or find in-person voter registration locations near you with this link. VERIFY your registration using this link – even if you have registered before!

We will also post information about candidates and their answers to our questions in our online Voters Guide, VOTE411.org.

Shaker Heights Candidates Forum

The Shaker Heights Chapter of the League of Women Voters presented a Candidates forum with candidates for Shaker Heights City Council and the Shaker Heights Board of Education.

Coming Events in Shaker Heights:

Voter Turnout Forum

Wednesday, November 13, 2019, 7:00 pm
Shaker Heights Public Library (Main Branch)
16500 Van Aken Blvd., Shaker Heights, OH 44120 

Jen Miller, Executive Director, LWV Ohio
Anthony Perlatti, Director, Cuyahoga County BOE
Mike Brickner, All Voting is Local

Coming Events in Greater Cleveland:

Making Sense of Ohio’s Court System

Saturday, October 12, 2019, 10:30 am – 1:00 pm
Cleveland Heights-University Heights Public Library
2345 Lee Road, Cleveland Heights 44118

Camille Wimbish, Election Administration Director, Ohio Voice

Eager to learn more about Ohio’s court system, how judges are selected, and how you can take action to ensure our courts are fair and impartial? The Ohio Fair Courts Alliance is a nonpartisan engagement project designed to educate Ohioans about challenges and opportunities facing the justice system. In this training, you’ll learn how Ohio’s court system impacts us—from voting rights, gerrymandering, the environment, and education to bail reform, healthcare, and immigration—and what citizens, like you, can do to improve it.

Northeast Ohio Public Policy Forums:

For videos of past Northeast Ohio Public Policy Forums click here.

LWV Ohio adopts position on high-stakes testing

Learn what the League is doing to address high-stakes testing and accountability in K-12 education, measures which have been found by many experts to be damaging to students, teachers, schools, even whole communities, and thus educational quality. Go here for more information.

Redistricting in Ohio: Go to the LWV Ohio website for updated information. Scroll to the bottom of the page for current information and how you can stay involved.

Shaker Heights School News

Check here for upcoming meetings and events.

If you want to learn the details of the Master Plan,  review the documents posted on the District’s Master Planning page. 

Shaker Library News

Board meeting dates:
Monday, October 21, 2019, Main Branch, Meeting Room F
Monday, November 18, Bertram Woods Branch
Monday, December 16, Main Branch, Meeting Room F

For the City of Shaker Heights Sunshine Calendar, click here.

For prior videos of forums the Shaker Heights Chapter of the LWV Greater Cleveland has hosted go to our Public Policy Forums page on the menu bar.


Online Voter Registration is available in Ohio! To register or update your voter registration Click here. 

Learn about the candidates and issues on YOUR BALLOT. The League of Women Voters has the information you need. VOTE411.orgis a 1 stop shop, providing nonpartisan general, state and local election-specific info to the public. 


Judicial Races:

Judge4Yourself.com and JudicialVotesCount.org. You’ll learn how the candidates are rated, how voting for judges works in Ohio, and much more.